A quarter of the year in Irish reckoning; the term essentially means "season." There are two types of quarterings in the Irish calendar:

  • Fíor-Ráitheanna: "True-Quarters," being Samhain, Imbolc, Beltane, and Lughnassadh.
  • Cam-Ráitheanna: "Crooked-Quarters," being the solstices and equinoxes.

    This use of quarters influenced the creation of the Neopagan calendar, which has eight holidays (please see the Druidic Calendar entry).

    Back to "R" | Back to JCE

    Mary Jones © 2004